Information Pertaining to Recording a Quit Claim Deed in Adams County Colorado
Basic Recording Fee:
Quit Claim Deed, First Page............... $10.00
Each Additional Page...................... $5.00
Surcharge Fee............ $1.00 per document
$.01 per each hundred dollars of applicable sales consideration
$0.25 per page
Certification Fee.................. $1.00 each document
Preventing Rejected Quit Claim Deed Documents:
Help prevent Quit Claim Deed documents submitted for recording from being rejected. Please follow these guidelines to prevent the delays associated with the return of rejected documents.
Before submitting your recordings, please check:
Fees are Correct - Recording fees are statutorily established. Adams County only refunds over payments of $10.00 or more. Please check that your page count is accurate.
Quality of the Quit Claim Deed Document is Good and Text is Readable
Please remember that bad originals produce poor public records.
Quit Claim Deed Documents that are illegible to begin with will be marked with a Clerk’s note and recorded as received.
If State Documentary Fees are Due. Any Quit Claim Deed document that transfers title with consideration exceeding $500.00 will be assessed a state documentary fee of 1 cent per $100.
Consideration amounts must be correctly marked on both the Quit Claim Deed and transfer declaration( See Our "Transfer Declaration Form" and "Transfer Declaration Guidelines"). Any exemption from payment of the documentary fee must be specifically claimed on the face of the Quit Claim Deed document or the fee will be due.
Deeds Contain a Valid Grantee Address
Colorado law says that all Quit Claim Deeds shall include a notation of the legal (mailing) address of the grantee. This address is used to determine where tax statements should be mailed after a property is sold. Submitters should verify the accuracy and completeness of such address before recording a deed.
Sufficient Margins are Provided
Adams County requires that all Quit Claim Deed documents have a top margin of at least one inch and a left, right and bottom margin of at least ½ inch. The recorder may refuse to file any document that does not meet these standards.
Make Checks are Payable to the “ Adams County Clerk ”
If checks are made out to the wrong party, the check along with all documents attached to it will be rejected and returned to the submitter.
Checks are Signed
Unsigned or stale dated checks, along with all documents attached thereto, will be rejected and returned to the submitter. Preventing Rejected Documents
Notary Seals Are Darkened
Embossed seals on a Quit Claim Deed document will not show up on the image if they are not darkened or “inked.” Submitters should ensure all embossed seals are visible before recordation. Adams County does NOT darken the seals.
Please include specific instructions as to what documents you are recording and the amount of pages in each document. A staple or paper clip is an easy way to indicate what pages constitute one document.
Return Addresses Are Provided
A complete and accurate return address (to whom the original Quit Claim Deed document should be returned after recording) should be clearly marked on the lower left front page of any Quit Claim Deed document submitted for recording.
Quit Claim Deed documents will be returned in approximately 7 to 10 days. No return envelope is required by law, but is appreciated.
Submit Documents to the Correct County
Often Quit Claim Deed documents intended for recording in one county are sent somewhere else by mistake. Please be aware that Adams County will NOT reject these documents and will not make refunds for recording fees paid due to such an error. Please make sure you are recording your document in the appropriate County.
Do NOT include Social Security Numbers on a Quit Claim Deed document. Recorded documents are public records. Please do not put Social Security Numbers or other such personal information on the Quit Claim Deed document that you submit for recording.
Additional Fees May Apply
Adams County Clerk and Recorder
450 South 4th Ave.
Brighton, Colorado, 80601
Hours: Monday - Friday, 7 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Phone: (303) 654-6026
NOTE* If you
have a question about this
information start a new
topic in your